Important Insights on New York State Auto Insurance Requirements

Important Insights on New York State Auto Insurance Requirements

Auto insurance is mandatory in New York State. Driving without insurance could lead to penalties and license suspension. If you are a new car owner, you may have some questions about how much insurance coverage is required to drive legally in New York State.

New York State’s Minimum Auto Insurance Requirement

All drivers in New York State are lawfully required to have minimum auto liability coverage, which includes:

  • $10,000 for an accident resulting in property damage.
  • $25,000 for bodily injury and $50,000 for one death caused by accident.
  • $50,000 for bodily injury and $100,000 for two or more deaths caused by accident.

Besides, your auto liability, the coverage should:

  • Be New York State’s mandatory coverage provided by an insurance company licensed by the New York State Department of Financial Services and certified by NY State DMV (out-of-state insurance won’t be accepted).
  • Remain active when your car registration is valid, even if your vehicle is stored in a garage.
  • Be issued in the vehicle registrant’s name and should remain in the same name always.

What If a Vehicle Registration Has Two Names?

In such circumstances, both the primary registrant (first name mentioned on the registration) and the co-registrant must sign the vehicle’s title application or registration and submit their identity and date of birth proofs. Also, both names should be mentioned on the insurance ID card.

 Is Auto Insurance Mandatory for Vehicle Registration?

Yes, the DMV requires insurance proof for vehicle registration in New York State. Upon buying the insurance, your provider will issue the evidence in two ways, including:

  • Providing you with two original NY State insurance ID cards or access to digital ID cards.
  • Send an email concerning your insurance coverage to the DMV (your provider cannot file this).

The DMV checks both your ID cards and email notice to verify whether you have insurance. Make sure to register your vehicle at the DMV office within 3 months from the date mentioned on your insurance ID card.

When you come to register your vehicle at the DMV office, you have to provide them with one insurance ID card. You can keep the other ID card on your car so that you or anyone else driving your vehicle can show proof of insurance.

Why Is Getting Insurance from an Independent Insurance Agency a Better Idea?

An independent insurance agency works with multiple insurance carriers, so they can get you precisely what you are looking for. With access to multiple insurance companies, the independent insurance agent can compare quotes and coverage types offered for the same product by various providers, helping you find a better deal for your insurance requirements. Independent insurance companies have a dedicated team of professionals to shop quotes for you and ease the process of buying/renewing insurance, saving your time and money. All you need to do is to just hire them, and they will do the rest to get you the right policy with comprehensive coverage.

Looking for the Best Independent Insurance Agency to Get Auto Insurance? Contact 01 Insurance Today! 

At 01 insurance, we provide best-in-class auto insurance coverage customized to your unique needs and budget. Contact our insurance experts today to find the right policy at an affordable rate.